Grey Kitty flower card

I want to be better and faster at card making.  So I decided that I need to start doing some handmade card challenges.  For my first challenge, I choose clean & simple stamping’s Fall to Layout #28 – Take two.  I generally enjoy making clean and simple cards, and this is a very small challenge with no winners chosen, just to have fun!

So following their card sketch, here is my card:

Grey kitty flower card

I first stamped the image of the kitty from Scrapberry’s Basik&Ko onto paper made for stamp colouring.  Then I coloured in the flowers and kitty with alcohol markers by Deco Time and cut out it out.  Then I die cut the white border banner tag and glued that onto some pretty pattern paper.  The banner was actually a lot shorter, like it ended around where Basik’s head would be.  So I used a trick to lengthen die cuts, which you can read about from this blog: Simply One of a Kind: Elongating Die-Cuts.  (You can also find lots of videos on how to do this too.)

Next, I die cut a little scalloped circle for the “for you” sentiment, made a little hole on top with my Fiskar eyelet punchers, and looped a small piece of baker’s twine through.  Finally I stuck it all together onto a pink metallic linen paper using 1mm foam tape behind Basik the kitty and the sentiment, and all of that on top of a basic white card stock.

And there is my card!  It is relatively “clean and simple” and didn’t take that long to put together.  What takes long for me when I make cards is trying to find matching colours with my papers since I don’t buy packs or sets, just a random jumble of papers….  I am also a little bothered by how the pink linen paper seems very plain…but hey, that’s the point of the card, right?  Clean and Simple!

3 thoughts on “Grey Kitty flower card

Leave a Reply

